Skip to main content
Tampereen yliopiston kirjastoTampereen yliopistoTampereen yliopiston kirjasto

Open Access English: Gold Open Access

General information

Article processing charge (APC) and Book processing charge (BPC) are payments charged by the Open Access publisher from the author or her/his institution to cover publishing costs. Detailed Information about APC and BPC can be found on publisher´s or journal´s homepage or DOAJ.

Most Open Access journals have an impact factor. Further information about impact factors and evaluation in general from visibility and impact guide.

The Publication Forum – The classifications of scientific publication channels maintained by the Federation of Finnish Learned Societies. JuFo Search Form - Search journals, conferences and publishers.

Further information about the quality and reliability of an Open Access publication channel can be find here (linkki engl.luotettavuus).

Hybrid journals

Some journals offer an option for authors to make their individual articles freely accessible to anyone worldwide for an additional fee. Other articles in the journal remain accessible only through subscription.

For example:
Open Select (Taylor & Francis)
Springer Choice (Springer)
Sage Choice (Sage)

Open e-books and publishers

From 2016 the Open Access books of Tampere University Press (TUP)  is published both on TamPub portal and on international OAPEN Library portal. The objective of TUP is to promote openness in scholarly publishing as well as international visibility and impact of the research.

TUP is classified at the Publication Forum to level 1. All books published by TUP are peer reviewed.

 

DOAJ is the most extensive critical directory of scientific Open Access books. For those who are interested in OA publishing, DOAB contains a useful listing of subject areas also including information about the publishers.

Oapen offers an extensive, critical directory of Open Access monographs. The list of Top subjects provides useful information on subjects and contact information of various publishers.

Open Access eBooks on JSTOR contains openly accessible academic monographs, mainly in the area of humanities and social sciences.Each book carries one of six Creative Commons licenses determined by the publisher.

Open Access-journals and publishers

DOAJ is the most extensive critical directory of scientific Open Access journals. For those interested in OA publishing, DOAJ includes a useful  listing of subject areas.

The scientific level of journals can also be assessed through Impact factors and through Publication Forum rating.

Persee.fr offers an open and free of charge access to several publications in French in the fields of humanities and social sciences.

Thesis at the University of Tampere

TamPub includes the theses of  Tampere university; dissertations, licentiate theses, master´s theses and master´s theses. The theses are openly accessible and can be printed for private use. For some theses only an abstract or a bibliographic information is available.

Publishing in TamPub increases the visibility of theses and makes them easier to find. All theses published in TamPub get a permanent e-address and they can be found through search engines.

Full text is openly accessible from  96,8 % of dissertations and 85 % of theses published at Tampere University.