Skip to main content
Tampereen yliopiston kirjastoTampereen yliopistoTampereen yliopiston kirjasto

Open Access English: Green Open Access (Self-archiving)

Terminology

Embargo
A period of time defined by the publisher, calculated from the publishing date of the original publication, during which the author has no permission to publish a self-archived open access copy of the publication in question.

Publisher´s embargoes for self-archiving:
Cambridge University Press
Elsevier

Emerald
Oxford Univeristy Press
Sage in Green Open Access: SAGE´s archiving policy
Springer
Taylor & Francis

Wiley choose Author Compliance Tool

Benefits of self-archiving

  • Increases the visibility and the impact of the research
  • Increases the probability of being cited
  • Fills the recommendations of EU and many funders for favoring Open Access policy
  • Is free of charge. No author fees like in OA journals
  • Makes articles easier available to the author himself/herself
  • Frees the researcher and the faculty from maintaining their own publication archives or data archives
  • Researchers can publish their articles in whichever original platform they choose
  • Most publishers are well-disposed toward self-archiving
  • The publications get a permanent internet address which is easy to share through the social media.

Self-archiving at the University of Tampere

The University of Tampere wants to improve the open access and visibility of research publications. The University offers researchers a publication channel for self-archiving and the support needed.

The Rector of the University requires in the Rector’s Decision (11.3.2016) researchers to deposit copies of their research articles in the open institutional repository TamPub if the publisher´s copyright policy allows.

Self-archiving

1. Once the article is published, enter its reference data into publication register of the University of Tampere, SoleCRIS.

2. Accept the terms of agreement, in which you affirm that:

  • The other authors have given their permission to self-archiving.
  • You have permissions to the content you have not produced if the article contains copyrighted material belonging to a third party, such as illustrations or graphics. You are responsible for getting a permission to self-archive the content in the article you have not produced.

3. Visit TamPub website and sign in to TamPub-form with your Basic User Account or send a post print version of your article by email: oa@uta.fi.

4. Library obtains the publisher's permission to self-archive. You can also obtain the publisher's permission by yourself. Information of the self-archiving policies of different publishers and publications can be found in the SHERPA/RoMEO service.

Checking the right to self-archiving

Nowadays the self-archiving policies of most scientific publishers allow articles to be self-archived in the institutional repositories of scientific organizations.

Before signing the publication agreement, make sure that you will retain the right to self-archive your article in the repository of your own institution. This means that when making the agreement, you retain the right to self-archive your article in the institutional repository of the University of Tampere. For this, you can use the model form offered by the University below.

If you did not retain the rights to self-archive before the publishing, you can check the self-archiving policies of well-known, international publishers on the SHERPA/RoMEO website, and find out which version of your article may be published.

If the policy of the journal cannot be found at SHERPA/RoMEO and there is no mention of it in the agreement offered by the publisher or at the publisher's web site, you can request permission to self-archive your article. For this, you can use the model form offered by the University.

Which version of your article may you self-archive?

  Pre Print Post-print Publisher's pdf
Definition

    

the version of an article before peer review, submitted to the publisher

the author's final version of an article that has been modified according to the feedback of the peer review, does not have the layout or logos of the publisher the publisher's final, published, version of an article
Some other terms submitted version, author-submitted article final draft, accepted author manuscript, accepted article, author's accepted manuscri

final published article, version of record, publisher PDF, publisher's version, published journal article

These are also publisher's versions of the article before the final publication: Epub, Ahead of Print, Epub ahead of Print, In Press, Corrected Proof, Online First, Forthcoming Article, Offprint

  • The final version (publisher’s version), which has been published in a journal if the publisher allows using it.
  • The final version of the article that has been modified according to the feedback of the peer review, but the layout of which has not yet been processed (post-print).
  • The table clarifies the different versions of the article.

Referring to an article/work deposited in the institutional repository of the University

If an article/work has been published earlier, the reference is made to the original publishing context or platform.

If you also want to refer to the version saved in the institutional repository of the University, use the permanent URN-address.

SoleCRIS (Current research information system)

The researchers of the University of Tampere are responsible for saving their publication information to SoleCRIS database where information about scientific and artistic activity of the University of Tampere is collected. The information collected in SoleCRIS is used for internal and external reporting (to the Ministry of Education and Culture and Statistics Finland), funding calculations (Ministry of Education and Culture and the University), research evaluation and dissemination of research results.

The publication data in SoleCRIS is transferred to the national VIRTA-publication database. The information can be openly browsed in JUULI research publication portal.

The University Library takes care of the evaluation of the publication data. In matters concerning the evaluation of the publication data you can contact Tanja Heikkilä (tanja.heikkila@uta.fi).

TamPub

TamPub is the open institutional repository of the University of Tampere. TamPub includes the theses of the university; dissertations, licentiate theses and master´s theses. TamPub also includes e-publications, serials and self-archived articles of the staff of the University of Tampere. The Open Access books of Tampere University Press will be published on TamPub portal on TUP OA Books collection.The Tampere University Library is responsible for the contents of TamPub.

Open Access repositories

Open Access repositories can be institutional repositories or subject-based repositories.

OpenDOAR - The Directory of Open Access Repositories.

ROAR - Registry of Open Access Repositories

ROARMAP - Registry of Open Access Repositories Mandatory Archiving Policies