Skip to main content
Tampereen yliopiston kirjastoTampereen yliopistoTampereen yliopiston kirjasto

Open Access English: Introduction

Contact

Email: oa[at]uta.fi
Book a Librarian

Open Access at the University of Tampere

The University of Tampere is committed to open science and research and to promoting it with a variety of measures and instructions. The Rector of the University has set an Open Science -working group at the University of Tampere 2.3.2016-31.12.2017

.

Seppo Parkkila, vice-rector, chair
Markku Ihonen, head of research development
Helena Laaksonen, director of FSD
Elina Mäkinen, postdoctoral researcher
Minna Niemi-Grundström, director of library
Pirjo Nikander, univeristy lecturer
Liina-Kaisa Tynkkynen, postdoctoral researcher

 

The Rector of the University requires in the Rector’s Decision (11.3.2016) researchers to deposit copies of their research articles in the open institutional repository TamPub if the publisher´s copyright policy allows.

Publication and data policy

  • scientific publications are made open whenever possible, whenever the deal with the publisher allows it
  • the publications are saved as parallel publications in TamPub
  • the publications may also be published in other institutional or subject-based repository
  • the University encourages to publish in high-quality peer-reviewed scientific Open Access journals (Gold Open Access)
  • for justified reasons researchers may also publish in hybrid journals

What is Open Access?

Free availability of scientific knowledge means that the user has the right to read, copy, print and link full-text versions of scientific publications. A scientific publication can be defined as publicly available once it is readable on the Internet by both the scientific community and the general public, free of charge.

Open Access

You have several options to publish your research Open Access

  • Self-archive (Green Open Access) your article or post print -version (final draft) of it to an Open Access archive or institutional  repository according to the agreements of the copyrights owner. Researchers of the University of Tampere self-archive their research articles to TamPub.
  • Publish article in the journal that supports Open Access (Gold Open Access). OA journals often charge a fee (Article Processing Charge).
  • Self-archive  your article, post print -version (final draft) or pre print -version of it to a subject-based archive  (i.e. ArXiv, bioRxiv, PubMed Central, RePEC, SocArXiv or SSRN) according to the agreements of the publisher.
  • Publish on your own web pages or via social media services such as ResearchGate or Academia.edu according the agreements of publisher.
  • Make an article openly accessible by paying an extra fee. Often referred as Hybrid Open Access.
  • Publish your book by using Open Access -based services or publishers. OA services or publishers often charge a fee (Book Processing Change).

About Open Access

TamPub

TamPub is the open institutional repository of the University of Tampere. TamPub includes the theses of the university; dissertations, licentiate theses and master´s theses. TamPub also includes e-publications, serials and self-archived articles of the staff of the University of Tampere. The Open Access books of Tampere University Press will be published on TamPub portal on TUP OA Books collection. The Tampere University Library is responsible for the contents of TamPub.

Tampere University Press (TUP)

Tampere University Press (TUP) was established in 1994. From  2016 Tampere University Press (TUP) is profiled as a peer-reviewed Open Access publishing channel and will cease publishing printed books. The objective of the reorganization is to promote openness in scholarly publishing as well as international visibility and impact of the research.

The Open Access books of TUP will be published both on TamPub portal and on international OAPEN Library portal that excellently suits the profile of the University of Tampere.